Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Jaeger-LeCoultre Presents Maryse Alberti with Its Glory to the Filmmaker Award

LA Film Festival Director Stephanie Allain (at left) and cinematographer Maryse Alberti,
winner of the Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award. (Getty Images, Nina Ham)

For the third year, Jaeger-LeCoultre presented its Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award at the 22nd LA Film Festival paying tribute to a filmmaker who has brought great innovation to contemporary cinema. This year’s recipient is multi award-winning French cinematographer and artist Maryse Alberti whose work is lauded for its technical elegance, grit and beauty. She is one of the most notable female cinematographers in the United States. 

Currently, Maryse Alberti is lensing Collateral Beauty starring Will Smith, Kate Winslet, Helen Mirren, Keira Knightley and Edward Norton. Last year, she shot M. Night Shyamalan’s film The Visit; followed by Lionsgate’s Freeheld starring Julianne Moore, Ellen Page and Steve Carell, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival; and Ryan Coogler’s Rocky re-boot Creed starring Academy Award nominee Sylvester Stallone and Michael B. Jordan. She was honored at the Women Behind the Lens Brunch during the Festival in early June. Previous recipients of the Glory to the Filmmaker Award include filmmaker Lisa Cholodenko and producer Gale Anne Hurd.

“We’re thrilled to shine a light on legendary cinematographer Maryse Alberti and all female directors of photography working in film and television,” LA Film Festival Director Stephanie Allain said.

Panel discussion moderated by cinematographer Patti Lee. (Getty Images, Amanda Edwards)

A panel discussion moderated by cinematographer Patti Lee followed the event, including esteemed cinematographers Joan Churchill, Amy Vincent, Tami Reiker and Mandy Walker and honoree Maryse Alberti.

As the principal sponsor of the festival, Jaeger-LeCoultre celebrated the Opening Night and World Premiere of Ricardo de Montreuil’s Lowriders. “We are thrilled to open with Lowriders, a culturally vibrant film that explores familial relationships within a second-generation Mexican family in East LA. Made by filmmakers of color, Lowriders embodies our mission of shining the light on unique voices,” LA Film Festival Director Stephanie Allain said.

The film, produced by Academy Award winner Brian Grazer (A Beautiful Mind, 8 Mile, American Gangster) and Oscar nominee and Emmy Award winner Jason Blum (Whiplash, The Gift, HBO’s The Normal Heart), stars Eva Longoria, Demián Bichir, Melissa Benoist, Theo Rossi, Tony Revolori and Gabriel Chavarria.

The 2016 LA Film Festival, which has its headquarters at the ArcLight Culver City, includes a diverse slate of 56 feature films, 58 short films and 13 short episodic works representing 28 countries. This year’s guest director is Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station, Creed) and the Spirit of Independence Award Recipient is Ava DuVernay (Selma, Middle of Nowhere). Jonás Cuarón’s Desierto starring Gael García Bernal, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Alondra Hildalgo and Diego Cataño closed the 22nd edition of the Festival on June 9.

Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award
(Getty Images, Nina Ham)

Jaeger-LeCoultre and Cinema
Since 1833, Jaeger-LeCoultre has remained dedicated to the legacy of watchmaking traditions while maintaining its expertise for invention in creating authentic, fine watchmaking legends. Committed to a constant quest for excellence and supported by a unique inventive spirit, Jaeger-LeCoultre has a long-standing engagement in supporting the appreciation and preservation of film.

For a decade, Jaeger-LeCoultre has been closely associated with the best artistic film festivals around the world, including Venice, Shanghai, San Sebastian, Los Angeles, and New York, and in turn pays tribute to the creative ingenuity of filmmakers by annually awarding the Glory to the Filmmaker Award. Through the close affinity with the world of film, Jaeger-LeCoultre has found shared values and a common mission: each second bears the imprint of a moment of eternity.

In addition to the annual Filmmaker in Residence initiative with the Film Society of Lincoln Center, the multi-year partnership also extends to two of the Film Society of Lincoln Center’s most prestigious annual events: the Annual Chaplin Award Gala and the New York Film Festival, a 17-day celebration showcasing the best and most significant films of the year from around the world.

LA Film Festival
The LA Film Festival is a key part of the exhibition arm of Film Independent, showcasing new American and international cinema that embraces diversity, innovation and unique perspectives. The Festival produces one-of-a-kind events featuring critically acclaimed filmmakers, industry professionals and award-winning talent from Los Angeles and around the world. The Festival’s signature programs include the Filmmaker Retreat, Celebrating Women Filmmakers, Master Classes, Spirit of Independence Award, Coffee Talks, LA Muse and more. The Festival also screens short films created by high school students.

No comments:

Post a Comment